# Barton Community College Faculty Council Charter 2021-2022

#### Name of Team

**Faculty Council** 

## Purpose:

The purpose of the Faculty Council is to support and encourage best practices in the classroom, promote professional development actives, review all proposed policies and policy changes for their impact upon faculty and the academic performance of students, and represent the concerns and proposals of faculty to college administrators.

## **Duration and Time Commitment:**

The council is a permanent institutional team. The Council typically meets every month with the exceptions of May, June and December. Monthly meetings typically occur on the first Monday of the month at 4:30 pm. In addition to this monthly meeting, the council sponsors a Third Wednesday professional development session approximately eight times per year.

Council members have a particular interest in communication from the administration and take care to read, understand and comment on these communications. Sub-committees may be assigned to address projects and tasks.

#### **Boundaries & Limitations:**

The council operates within the requirements established by Barton Community College Policy and Procedures, Kansas Board of Regents rules and requirements, Kansas Statutes, Higher Learning Commission Principles and Federal Regulations. Council members serve to recommend strategies, practices, policies and procedures as they apply to college operations.

Council meetings and Third Wednesday trainings are posted on the Faculty Council Course Shell in the form of Agendas, Minutes and video recordings. Any faculty member may attend these meetings live or view the recordings.

If agenda items and/or council discussion is earmarked as confidential, members should maintain confidentiality with the information.

The Faculty Council is not a union or bargaining unit of the faculty.

## Membership:

The committee consists of the following members:

Six representatives from the Barton County (Great Bend) campus

- Amanda Alliband
- Mark Bogner
- Kara Brauer
- Luis Palacios
- Jessica Perez
- Peter Solie

Three representatives from Fort Riley/Grandview Plaza/Troop School

- Lawrence Weber
- Chris Vanderlinde
- Jim Turner

One representative from Fort Leavenworth

• Jessica Fullen

Participation on the Faculty Council is open to all faculty members (full-time, part-time, and adjunct). For election rules, refer to the Faculty Council Bylaws. Uncontested nominations will be approved by members of the Faculty Council. Members of the Faculty Council vote to elect a Chair, Vice-chair and Secretary. Current officers are:

- Amanda Alliband, Chair
- Kara Brauer, Vice-Chair
- Luis Palacios, Secretary

## Budget

There is no line item budget for Faculty Council. Special requests for funding are directed to the Vice President of Instruction

Updated by Faculty Council – summer 2021