Barton Community College Accreditation Committee Committee Charter

Name of Team: Accreditation Committee

Context: Accreditation is a quality standard assessed to institutions of higher education. An accreditation status of good standing assures students, families, the public, and government officials the instruction, services, and operations of the institution meets appropriate standards. Institutions must be good standing with accreditors to be eligible to participate in federal financial aid programs. Barton Community College is accredited by the Higher Learning Commission (HLC), a regional accrediting agency recognized by the U.S. Department of Education (ED). Institutional accreditation wellness is monitored through various periodic check point activities.

Purpose: The Accreditation Committee works towards a comprehensive institutional understanding of and compliance with accreditation requirements and expectations under the HLC Open Pathways accreditation track inclusive of the following:

- Accreditation Requirements & Expectations
 - Criteria of Accreditation
 - HLC Assumed Practices
 - HLC Guiding Values
 - Obligations of Membership
- · Accreditation Monitoring Activities
 - Annual Submission Institutional Data to HLC
 - Substantive Change Requests/Approvals
 - Additional Location Visits
 - Year 4 Assurance Review
 - Quality Initiative Project
 - Assurance Argument
 - Federal Compliance Report
 - Comprehensive Visit

Duration and Time Commitment: The committee is a permanent institutional team. The committee will meet in frequency as is warranted. Sub-committees will meet in accordance with identified projects and tasks.

Boundaries & Limitations: The committee operates within Barton Community College Policy and Procedures, Kansas Board of Regents rules and requirements, State of Kansas Statutes, Higher Learning Commission Criteria and Expectations, and Federal Statutes and Regulations.

Membership:

Individual	Title	Role
Myrna Perkins	Chief Accreditation Officer	Committee Facilitator
		Accreditation Liaison Officer
		HLC Peer Reviewer
Janet Balk	Directory of Ft Riley Academic Programs	Team Member
Matt Connell	Executive Director of Healthcare Ed	Team Member
		Student Success Academy
Mark Dean	Vice President of Administration	Criterion 2 & 5 Representative
Jo Harrington	Mathematics Instructor	Coordinator of Assessment
		Assessment Academy
Lindsay Holmes	Director of Hazardous Materials,	Team Member
	Emergency Management, and	Student Success Academy
	Occupational Safety and Health	
Brian Howe	Dean of Academics	Team Member
Stephanie Joiner	Director of Student Academic	Team Member
	Development	Student Success Academy
Dr. Kathy Kottas	Dean of Workforce Training & Community	Team Member
	Education	
Abby Kujath	Director of Military Student Services	Team Member
Karly Little	Coordinator of Community Education	Team Member
Angie Maddy	Vice President of Student Services	Criterion 2 & 4 Representative
		Student Success Academy Lead
Claudia Mather	Associate Dean of Instruction	Team Member
Lee Miller	Director of Innovation and Compliance	Team Member
Todd Mobray	Director of Institutional Research	Criterion 1 & 5 Representative
		Team Member
Cathie Oshiro	Director of Grants	Report Writer
Sarah Riegel	Administrative Assistant	Meeting Scribe
Elaine Simmons	Vice President of Instruction	Criterion 3 & 4 Representative
Kurtis Teal	Dean of Military Academics, Technical	Team Member
	Education, and Outreach Programs	
Randy Thode	Student Services Concierge	Evidence Collection Coordinator

Criteria of Accreditation	Representatives*	Title
Criterion 1. Mission	Dr. Carl Heilman	President
	Todd Mobray	Director of Inst. Research
Criterion 2. Integrity: Ethical and Responsible Conduct	Mark Dean	VP of Administration
	Angie Maddy	VP of Student Services
Criterion 3. Teaching and Learning: Quality, Resources, and Support	Elaine Simmons	VP of Instruction
	Angie Maddy	VP or Student Services
Criterion 4. Teaching and Learning: Evaluation and Improvement	Elaine Simmons	VP of Instruction
	Jo Harrington	Coordinator of Assessment
Criterion 5. Institutional Effectiveness, Resources and Planning	Mark Dean	VP of Administration
	Todd Mobray	Director of Inst. Research

*Myrna Perkins, Accreditation Liaison Officer, representative ad hoc for all Criteria.				