

Dare to know

Time-Travel Fiction

Fiction that centers on travel into the future or the past and the resulting consequences or implications.

A sub-genre which assumes the capability of time travel is possible and employed by protagonists, whether publicly or in secret, easily or with difficulty, or frequently or rarely. In time-travel fiction, the main characters may move to different points in time or travel to parallel or alternate universes in an unknown time. The effects and consequences of these temporal ventures vary widely, including the changing of history, whether intentionally or accidentally. Some stories assert that time is fixed, and the past and future cannot be altered. Time travelers may be called upon to facilitate past events they were to observe and ensure history unfolds as recorded. Authors in this sub-genre often create their own version of the mechanics of time travel.

Washington Irving's *Rip Van Winkle* (1819) and Mark Twain's *A Connecticut Yankee in King Arthur's Court* (1889) utilized the concept of a time slip. Edward Paige Mitchell's "The Clock That Went Backward" (1881) and H. G. Well's *The Time Machine* (1895) popularized the idea of time traveling by mechanical means. P. D. Puspensky's *Strange Life of Ivan Osokin* (1915) depicted a character experiencing a time loop.

Warwick Deeping's *The Man Who Went Back* (1940), René Barjavel's *Future Times Three* (1944), Catherine L. Moore and Henry Kuttners's *Vintage Season* (1946), Clifford D. Simak's *Time and Again* (1951), Ray Bradbury's *A Sound of Thunder* (1952), Isaac Asimov's *The End of Eternity* (1955), Fritz Leiber's *The Big Time* (1958), Wilson Tucker's *The Lincoln Hunters* (1958), Andre Norton's *The Time Traders* (1958), Charles Eric Maine's *Calculated Risk* (1960), Keith Laumer's *The Great Time Machine Hoax* (1964), Poul Anderson's *Guardians of Time* (1960) and *The Corridors of Time* (1965), David James Karashima's *The Girl Who Leapt Through Time* (1967), and Robert Silverberg's *The Masks of Time* (1968) are classic examples of the sub-genre.

Common Elements

Altered timelines
Predetermined futures
Historical immutability
Temporal paradoxes
Special theory of relativity
General theory of relativity
Quantum mechanics
Butterfly effect

Space and time warps
Causality
Time slips
Time loops
Time machines
Time tourism
Time wars

Benefits of Reading

Provides readers with social commentary on current issues

Encourages readers to consider free will versus determinism

Offers readers an opportunity to contemplate individual versus cultural responsibility

Allows readers to reflect on second chances

Permits readers to explore human endeavors and speculate on progress
Inspires readers to ponder humanity's

existential search for meaning

Modern Literary Examples

The Accidental Time Machine (2007) by
Joe Haldeman
Bones of the Earth (2002) by Michael
Swanwick
Collision Course (1973) by Barrington J.
Bayley
The Dark Age (1996) by Traci Harding
Doomsday Book (1992) by Connie Willis
The Fall of Chronopolis (1974) by
Barrington J. Bayley
The Future of Another Timeline (2019) by
Analee Newitz
The Green Futures of Tycho (1981) by
William Sleator
The H-Bomb Girl (2007) by Stephen
Baxter
In the Garden of Iden (1997) by Kage
Baker
Island in the Sea of Time (1998) by S. M.
Sterling
Kindred (1979) by Octavia E. Butler
The Last Day of Creation (1981) by
Wolfgang Jeschkle
Let Time Pass (1986) by Svend Aage
The Light of Other Days (2000) by Arthur
C. Clarke and Stephen Baxter
A Long Time Until Now (2015) by
Michael Z. Williamson
Lord Kelvin's Machine (1992) by James
P. Blaylock
The Map of Time (2008) by Félix J. Palma
The Merchant and the Alchemist's Gate
(2007) by Te Chang
Midsummer Century (1972) by James
Blish

Millennium (1983) by John Varley
An Ocean of Minutes (2018) by Thea Lim
The Other One (2022) by Sarah Zachrich
Jeng
The Plot to Save Socrates (2006) by Paul
Levinson
Replay (1986) by Ken Grimwood
Sea of Tranquility (2022) by Emily St.
John Mandel
Son of Man (1971) by Robert Silverberg
There Will Be Time (1972) by Poul
Anderson
This is How You Lose the Time War
(2019) by Amal El-Mohtar and Max
Gladstone
Thrice Upon a Time (1980) by James P.
Hogan
The Tides of Time (1984) by John Brunner
Time After Time (1979) by Karl
Alexander
Time After Time (1985) by Allen Appel
<i>Time of the Fox</i> (1990) by Matthew
Costello
The Time Ships (1995) by Stephen Baxter
Time Travelers Never Die (2009) by Jack
McDevitt
Time Was (2018) by Ian McDonald
<i>Time's Eye</i> (2003) by Arthur C. Clarke
and Stephen Baxter
Timeline (1999) by Michael Crichton
Wrong Place Wrong Time (2022) by
Gillian McAllister
The Year of the Quiet Sun (1970) by
Wilson Tucker