

Dare to know

Seinen

Although the name is derived from the Japanese word for "youth," this category is aimed at adult men, usually college age and older. *Seinen* manga are similar to *shōnen*, except they tend to contain more sophisticated and mature topics, as well as content that is more violent and psychologically intense. They focus on action, comedy, fantasy, politics, science fiction, or sports. *Seinen* also differs from *shōnen* by focusing more on plot and less on characters, including their motivations and the resulting consequences. The influence of the *gekiga* artistic style faded in increasingly commercialized *shōnen* magazines, and these kinds of works are currently found in *seinen* publications.

Common Elements

	<u></u>
Friendship	Thoughtfulness
Turmoil and conflict	

Graphic Novel Examples^{*}

Ai Yori Aoshi (1998-2005) by Kou	
Fumizuki	
Akira (1982-1990) by Katsuhiro Otomo	
Battle Angel Alita ("Gunnm") (1991-	
1995) by Yukito Kishiro	
Battle Royale (2000-2005) by Koushun	
Takami	
Bezerk (1990-ongoing) by Kentaro Miura	
Blade of the Immortal (1993-2012) by	
Hiroaki Samura	
Blue Flag (2017-2019) by KAITO	
Buddha (1972-1983) by Osamu Tezuka	
<i>Gantz</i> (2000-2013) by Hiroya Oku	
<i>Ghost in the Shell</i> (1989-1991) by	
Masamune Shirow	
Golden Kamuy (2018-2020) by Satoru	
Nada	
Golgo 13 (1969-ongoing) by Takao Saito	
Hellsing (1997-2008) by Kouta Hirano	

The Ice Wanderer and Other Stories	
(2006) by Jirō Taniguchi	
Kamui (1964-1971) by Sanpei Shirato	
Lone Wolf and Cub (1970-1976) by	
Kazuo Koike and Goseki Kojima	
Message to Adolf (1983-1985) by Osamu	
Tezuka	
Monster (1994-2001) by Naoki Urasawa	
One-Punch Man (2009-ongoing) by One	
Uzumaki: Spiral into Horror (1998-2000)	
by Junji Ito	
Samurai Executioner (1972-1976) by	
Kazuo Koike and Goseki Kojima	
Samurai Legend (1992) by Kan Furuyama	
and Jiro Taniguchi	
Satsuma Gishiden (1977-1982) by Hiroshi	
Hirata	
Steins; Gate (2009-2013) by Yomi Sarachi	
The Summit of the Gods (2000-2003) by	
Jiro Taniguchi and Baku Yumemakura	

^{*} The dates given reflect the original serial publications in Japan.

Tekkonkinkreet (1993-1994) by Taiyō Matsumoto

Tokyo Ghoul (2011-2014) by Sui Ishida

Vagabond (1998-2015) by Takehiko Inoue

Inoue
Vinland Saga (2005-ongoing) by Makoto
Yukimura