#### Special Meeting of the Board of Trustees Barton Community College August 18, 2015

# ATTENDANCE

Trustees Present: Leonard Bunselmeyer, Mike Johnson, John Moshier, Mike Minton and Don Learned

**Other Attendees:** Elaine Simmons; Shelli Schmidt; Victor Martin; Jane Howard; Mary Foley; Kathy Kottas; Brandon Steinert; Charles Perkins; Robin Garrett; Richard Abel; Cheryl Lippert; Chris Lemon; Dwight Young, Brock McPherson, Jeffery Johnson, Mary Ann Boyle, Gary Burke, Bob Dunavan, Tricia Reiser, David Reiser and Gary Burke community members; Nancy Wiebe, Foundation; Susan Thacker, Great Bend Tribune; President Carl Heilman; Amye Schneider; via GoTo Meeting: Ashley Arnold; Ange Sullivan.

## CALL TO ORDER AND PLEDGE OF ALLEGIANCE

Chairman Johnson called the meeting of the Board of Trustees of Barton County Community College to order at 4:00 p.m. on August 18, 2015, F-30, lower level, Fine Arts Building. He then led in the Pledge of Allegiance.

## **TRUSTEE REPLACEMENT**

Chairman Johnson announced the names of the applicants interested in a position on the Barton Board of Trustees. The names are as follows, Mary Ann Boyle, Patricia Reiser, Robert Dunavan, Gary Burke, Dwight Young, Brock McPherson, and Jeffery Johnson. Each of the applicants introduced themselves and briefly addressed the board. Chairman Johnson asked the Board members to write down their top 3 choices and to pass them to the Board Clerk. Amye Schneider then read the names from each Trustees list and Chairman Johnson tallied the votes as they were read. The overall top three votes went to Gary Burke, Trisha Reiser and Dwight Young.

*Trustee Moshier nominated Gary Burke to fill the vacant position. The motion was seconded by Trustee Bunselmeyer.* Following discussion, the motion carried 5-0.

Gary Burke then signed the Oath of Office and was seated at the table with the Board of Trustees.

#### **ADJOURNMENT**

The meeting adjourned at 4:23 p.m.

Mike Johnson, Chairman

Don Learned, Secretary

Recorded by Amye Schneider