Special Meeting of the Board of Trustees Barton Community College January 30, 2024

ATTENDANCE

Trustees Present: Don Learned, Gary Burke, Dale Maneth; Mike Johnson; Carl Helm

Trustees Absent: John Moshier

Other Attendees: Carl Heilman; Amye Schneider; Mark Dean; Kathy Kottas; Lindsey Bogner; Angie Maddy; Elaine Simmons; Maggie Harris; Renee Demel; Jon Dannebohm; Erin Dannebohm; Brandon Steinert; Myrna Perkins; Stephanie Joiner; Nick Larmer; Chris Baker; Darren Ivey; Dayna Ball; Justin Brown; Jennifer Bernatis; Susan Thacker, Great Bend Tribune. Attending via ZOOM: Brenda Glendenning; Ronnie Dean; Diana Holguin; Curtis Rose; Cheryl Brown; Renae Skelton; Gina Owen; Angel Morgan; Todd Mobray; Renetta Furrow; Penny Zimmerman; Leann Steinert; Kit Smith; Mary Foley; Danika Bielek; Kylynn Keeler; Shelby Cunningham; Kurtis Teal; Abby Kujath; Cole Reif, Eagle Radio; Amanda Alliband; Krystall Barnes; Joshua Winkler; Lori Crowther; Megan Chambers; Judy Jacobs; Melissa Feist; Sarah Riegel; Lee Miller; Shelli Schmidt; Courtney Metcalf; Christy Huslig; Amy Wheeler; Jamie Fager; Dani Kultgen; Logan Marshall; Cherish Robinson; Dr. Oleg Ravitskiy; Larami Klein; Lindsay Holmes; Brice Harvell; Claudia Mather; Karly Little; Carla Enstrom; Kelley Scott; Kara Brauer; Kaitlin DeWerff; Karen Gunther; Jamie Hatfield; Christian Rivas; Tina Strickland; Amanda Staab; Brian Howe; Peter Solie; Erin Eggers; Claudia Mather; Michelle Freeman; Todd Moore; Brandon Smith; and an unknown person.

CALL TO ORDER AND PLEDGE OF ALLEGIANCE

Chairman Johnson called the special meeting of the Board of Trustees of Barton County Community College to order at 4:00 p.m. January 30, 2024 in F-30 in the lower level of the Fine Arts Building and led the pledge of allegiance.

EXECUTIVE SESSION

Chair Johnson advised that an executive session would be necessary to discuss an individual employee(s) performance pursuant to non-elected personnel matters.

Trustee Burke moved that the Board recess to executive session for 15 minutes at 4:05 p.m. to discuss an individual employee(s) performance pursuant to non-elected personnel matters to protect the privacy interests of the individual(s) to be discussed, to reconvene in Room F-30 in the Fine Arts Building at 4:20 p.m. In compliance with this Act, no binding action will be taken in executive session. The motion was seconded by Trustee Learned. Following discussion, the motion carried 5-0.

Open Session – The recessed session of the Board of Trustees of Barton County Community College reconvened at 4:20 p.m. in the Seminar Room (F-30) of the Fine Arts Building. Chair Johnson advised that matters pertaining to the discussion of an individual employee(s) performance pursuant to non-elected personnel matters were discussed and no action was taken.

VOTE ON BARTON'S NEXT PRESIDENT

Mike Johnson, Board Chair and Search Committee Chair will facilitate this discussion.

Chairman Johnson thanked the search committee and others who assisted with the search process.

Trustee Moshier moved to hire Marcus Garstecki as the new President of Barton Community College and his contract with a start date of July 1, 2024. The motion was seconded by Trustee Learned. Following discussion, the motion carried 5-0.

Marcus Garstecki spoke to the audience via Zoom to thank everyone for the hospitality and how welcoming was when they visited the campus. Garstecki is looking forward to working with faculty and staff.

ADJOURNMENT

The meeting adjourned at 4:28 p.m.

Special Meeting of the Board of Trustees Barton Community College January 30, 2024

Mike Johnson, Chairman	Gary Burke, Vice Chairman
Recorded by Amye Schneider	