# Special Meeting of the Board of Trustees Barton Community College March 12, 2024

#### **ATTENDANCE**

Trustees Present: Don Learned; John Moshier; Mike Johnson; Carl Helm; Dale Maneth

Trustees Absent: Gary Burke

Other Attendees: Carl Heilman; Amye Schneider; Kylynn Keeler; Mark Dean; Elaine Simmons; Kathy Kottas; Lindsey Bogner; Stephanie Joiner; Maggie Harris; Renee Demel; Shelli Schmidt; Joshua Winkler; Linn Hogg; Alexis Sexton, Great Bend Tribune. Attending via ZOOM: Angie Maddy; Mary Foley; Lori Crowther; Kurtis Teal; Jennifer Bernatis; Krystall Barnes; Claudia Mather; Lee Miller; Cole Reif, Eagle Radio.

## CALL TO ORDER AND PLEDGE OF ALLEGIANCE

Chairman Johnson called the special meeting of the Board of Trustees of Barton County Community College to order at 4:00 p.m. March 12, 2024 in F-30 in the lower level of the Fine Arts Building and led the pledge of allegiance.

### **EXECUTIVE SESSION**

Chair Johnson advised that an executive session would be necessary to discuss an individual employee(s) performance pursuant to non-elected personnel matters.

Trustee Moshier moved that the Board recess to executive session for 15 minutes at 4:05 p.m. to discuss an individual employee(s) performance pursuant to non-elected personnel matters, in order to protect the privacy interests of the individual(s) to be discussed, to reconvene in Room F-30 in the Fine Arts Building at 4:20 p.m. In compliance with this Act, no binding action will be taken in executive session. The motion was seconded by Trustee Learned. Following discussion, the motion carried 5-0.

Dr. Carl Heilman, President and Mark Dean, Vice President of Administration were asked to join the discussion.

Open Session – The recessed session of the Board of Trustees of Barton County Community College reconvened at 4:17 p.m. in the Seminar Room (F-30) of the Fine Arts Building. Chair Johnson advised that matters pertaining to the discussion of an individual employee(s) performance pursuant to non-elected personnel matters was discussed and no action was taken.

#### **ADJOURNMENT**

The meeting adjourned at 4:18 p.m.	
Mike Johnson, Chairman	John Moshier, Secretary
Recorded by Amye Schneider	