# Regular Meeting of the Board of Trustees Barton County Community College January 28, 2025

#### **ATTENDANCE**

*Trustees Present:* Gary Burke; Mike Johnson; John Moshier; Cole Schwarz; Carl Helm; Dale Maneth arrived at 4:04 p.m.

Other Attendees: Amye Schneider; Marcus Garstecki; Brooke Cook; Angie Maddy; Renee Demel; Maggie Harris; Chris Baker; Josh Winkler; Myrna Perkins; Lindsey Bogner; Lee Miller; Nicholas Larmer; Brandon Steinert and Susan Thacker, Great Bend Tribune. via ZOOM: Elaine Simmons; Kurtis Teal; Kaitlin DeWerff; Lindsay Holmes; Krystall Barnes; Jenn Bernatis; Brian Howe; Lori Crowther; Claudia Mather; Erin Eggers; Courtney Metcalf; Megan Chambers; Abby Kujath; Laura Stutzman; Mike Noer; Rick Snell; Angel Morgan; Cole Reif, Eagle Radio.

# **CALL TO ORDER**

Mike Johnson, Board Chair called the monthly meeting of the Board of Trustees of Barton County Community College to order at 4:00 p.m. in F-30 in the lower level of the Fine Arts Building. He then led in the Pledge of Allegiance.

## INTRODUCTION OF GUESTS AND NEW EMPLOYEES

- Renae Skelton, Director of Nursing Education, introduced Mark Colglazier Instructor (Nursing) & Simulation Coordinator (Barton Campus).
- Amye Schneider, Assistant to the President & Board Clerk and Lindsey Bogner, Executive Director of Institutional Advancement introduced Lyndsay Burnett – Administrative Assistant (President's Office and Institutional Advancement) (Barton Campus).

#### **ELECTION OF OFFICERS**

Mike Johnson, Board Chair, facilitated this discussion.

Trustee Moshier moved the Board retain the same officer positions. The motion was seconded by Trustee Helm. Following discussion, the motion carried 6-0. Officer positions are as follows.

Chair – Mike Johnson Vice Chair – Gary Burke Secretary – John Moshier Treasurer – Mark Dean, Vice President of Administration KACC Representative – Mike Johnson

#### **PACE SURVEY**

Dr. Garstecki, President reviewed the survey results with the Board.

## **BOARD MONITORING REPORT - END 3: ACADEMIC ADVANCEMENT**

Angie Maddy, Vice President of Student Services gave this report.

## **ADVANTAGE ORIENTATION**

Angie Maddy, Vice President of Student Services presented for the Board's consideration.

Trustee Schwarz moved the Board authorize the President to sign the 5-year agreement with Advantage Design Group for virtual orientation service, in the amount of \$176,114.00 as presented. The motion was seconded by Trustee Burke. Following discussion, the motion carried 6-0.

#### **END STATEMENTS REVISIONS**

Dr. Garstecki, President reviewed the proposed revisions for the Board's consideration.

Trustee Burke moved to approve the proposed revisions to the END Statements as presented. The motion was seconded by Trustee Helm. Following discussion, the motion carried 6-0.

# Regular Meeting of the Board of Trustees Barton County Community College January 28, 2025

## **CONSENT AGENDA**

Routine items are presented for action in one motion. Any Trustee may remove an item from the consent agenda for individual discussion and action. It is recommended that the Board approve the consent agenda as presented.

- a) Personnel
- b) BOT Meeting Minutes of December 10, 2024

Trustee Schwarz moved the Board approve the consent agenda as presented. The motion was seconded by Trustee Maneth. Following discussion, the motion carried 6-0.

# **INCIDENTAL INFORMATION AND DISCUSSION ITEMS**

- a. President's Report of Monthly Activities
- b. KACC/Board Chair Report by Mike Johnson
- c. KBOR Update by Marcus Garstecki, President
- d. Upcoming Events
- e. Miscellaneous

## **EXECUTIVE SESSION**

Chair Johnson advised that an executive session would NOT be necessary.

# **PUBLIC COMMENT**

Mike Johnson, Board Chair again invited public comments; there were none offered.

# ADJOURNMENT

| The meeting adjourned at 5:11 p.m. |                         |
|------------------------------------|-------------------------|
|                                    |                         |
|                                    |                         |
|                                    |                         |
|                                    |                         |
|                                    |                         |
|                                    |                         |
|                                    |                         |
|                                    |                         |
| Mike Johnson, Chair                | John Moshier, Secretary |
|                                    |                         |
|                                    |                         |
|                                    |                         |

Recorded by Amye Schneider